Ready, Set, Save! The $2 N.Y.C. New York Color Ultra Last Lipsticks

43 responses

  1. Appu
    November 17th, 2010

    I love Caramel! I never knew these were so good. Will pick them up :) The NYC creme blushable sticks are pretty good too!!
    Appu recently posted … Smashbox Blush Rush in Chiffon

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      I’ve heard those are great. Must pick up some soon…

  2. Kim
    November 17th, 2010

    I like Sugar Plum and $2 is a definitely steal. Of course, if given the choice, I might go with the Two Buck Chuck. :)

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      I hear that! Especially after a long day…

  3. sophia
    November 17th, 2010

    Hi! I must ask ~ where is your necklace from in the first photo?? It’s gorgeous I love it!

  4. Lindsay a.k.a. RVAfashionista
    November 17th, 2010

    Hey Karen,

    I will definitely have to check out those N.Y.C. lipsticks. I’m normally a MAC or Clinique gal for lipsticks but considering I have a bad habit of losing lippies sometimes, I definitely need some drugstore alternates.

    I thought it was 3-Buck-Chuck but either way, LOVE me some wine from TJs. :-)
    Lindsay a.k.a. RVAfashionista recently posted … 40andFAB – A Social Media Makeover – THE FINAL REVEAL

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      TJs is so rocking my world right now. Have you ever had their Dark Chocolate Stars? NOM!

  5. NeutraKris
    November 17th, 2010

    Thanks for this! I have seen these around but have been reluctant to try them… I don’t know why. I usually am down for going on a limp on cheaper lipsticks. I will definitely pick some of these up the next time I’m out.

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      You’re welcome, Kris!

  6. Nina
    November 17th, 2010

    those are pretty!!! NYC lippies are relatively OK. must check these out soon!

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      Hi Nina,

      They’re great lil’ drugstore gems. I hope you find a color you like!

  7. Trinidad Pena
    November 17th, 2010

    I’ll give it go. 5 hours and only 2 bucks! It’s a great deal. Especially if you wanna try out a color that isn’t your norm!
    Trinidad Pena recently posted … Hump day Hooray! Get fit for fifty bucks!

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      Hi Trinidad,

      Yup, yup! I hope you like ‘em.

  8. Trisha
    November 17th, 2010

    First, I looooooove Ryan Reynolds. I would marry his face and attitude in a second.

    Second, those lip sticks look awesome. I like how pigmented they are and how great they look on you. I’m going to have to pick some up!
    Trisha recently posted … Nails of the Day- Runts Rainbow

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      Hi Trisha,

      I loooove him too!

  9. Cindy (Prime Beauty)
    November 17th, 2010

    This is definitley a brand to take a second look at–I also love their blush sticks for $3.99!

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      Hi Cindy,

      I’ve heard those are great! Do you have a fave color?

  10. Dao
    November 17th, 2010

    I was surprised at how pigmented these guys are when I bought Blue Orchid a couple of months ago. I just wanted a very bright and tacky pink lipstick and that fit the bill quite nicely. Now, CVS and K-Mart are having a BOGO half off this week. Which means, you’ll get 2 lipsticks for 3 bucks!

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      Thanks for the heads up on the BOGO sale, Dao!

  11. mkdallas
    November 17th, 2010

    I’ve really enjoyed seeing your posts on NYX and NYX products! I love me some high-end department store makeup goodies, but I also think finding a drugstore treasure is extra fun. You really get way more than you pay for with both lines and I’m thrilled to learn that NYC is cruelty-free. I hope you’ll keep throwing in the occasional cheap thrill review; it really is nice to know that good-quality makeup is available at a fair price.

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      Hi MKDallas,

      It really gives me a thrill to find those drugstore makeup gems. I’ll try to throw more budget reviews in. :)

  12. gio
    November 17th, 2010

    Berry Rich is gorgeous! And what a steal too!
    gio recently posted … How To Use Pink Concealers

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      Hi Gio,

      That’s my fave shade!

  13. Ashley
    November 17th, 2010

    Berry Rich looks great. I might just pick it up later today!

    But you know what or rather who looks even greater? Ryan Reynolds! Mmm.. And he’s Canadian, eh ;)

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      Hi Ashley,

      I knew that! Go Canada! ;)

  14. vonnie
    November 17th, 2010

    WOW! it’s beautiful for such a low price…look moisturizing and pigmented
    vonnie recently posted … 80s Whitney Houston Makeup Look Recreated

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      Hi Vonnie,

      They’re super moisturizing. Should be great for the cold weather season!

  15. Rae
    November 17th, 2010

    Holy crap, $2?! I’m impressed! Maybe I’ll have to give one a try and just put it in a separate pot or something…
    Rae recently posted … Fall tones- Rimmel True Vintage

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      Yeah! Or maybe pop ‘em into a lipstick palette?

  16. lo
    November 17th, 2010

    Pretty… I think I need to check these out! I’ve been wanting to creep into the world of lipstick lately, and some of those colors look like they’d be perfect. Do they smell or taste like anything?

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      Hi Lo,

      They’re flavor- and scent- free!

  17. Marian
    November 17th, 2010

    I’ve gotta check these out…..but everything looks fab on you, Karen!

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      Hi Marian,

      I hope you get your hands on a tube. :) Let me know if you find a color that you love!

  18. steph b
    November 17th, 2010

    Ohhh…going to have to check out Berry Rich. So pretty.

    I know you love Whip My Hair — have you seen the Jimmy Fallon (as Neil Young) and Bruce Springsteen cover? Freaking hilarious. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vhFh-JqQuMg&feature=related

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      That’s my fave out of the three.

      Um, that video totally made my morning! I can’t stop laughing!

  19. Elaine
    November 17th, 2010

    Hey Karen!

    Something I do to keep my makeup under control in expensive purses is it put my makeup in a small makeup bag and then put the makeup bag in my purse! This was after an unfortunate incident with a powder blush explosion…

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      Hey Elaine,

      Ah! Ye olde bag-within-a-bag trick! Yes, that works great. I’ve been carrying a wristlet around lately in the attempt to streamline, so it doesn’t really work (maybe I can put it in a ziploc?), but for big purses it’s a good trick.

      Sorry to hear about your powder blush explosion. :( How long did it take you to clean out your bag?

  20. Christina
    November 18th, 2010

    I just started to read your blog (I tagged it as a favorite). You are so funny – and an inspiration for people like me who are not makeup savvy. You make it all look fun, easy and approachable. Plus the occasional pic of Ryan doesn’t hurt.

    I’ll have to check out these lipsticks. I love a great bargain.

    Thanks!

    • Karen
      November 18th, 2010

      Hi Christina!

      It’s very nice to meet you. And yes… an occasional picture of Ryan is always a good thing. :)

      BTW, I just picked up another shade of this lipstick yesterday — Lilac Dream. Will let you know if it’s any good.

  21. Resham
    November 18th, 2010

    WOW!! $2….I just love Bargain Beauty Products!
    Resham recently posted … Bobbi Brown Day to Night Warm Eye

  22. Hazel
    November 21st, 2010

    thanks karen! i can’t wait to pick a few of these up!

  23. Leah
    March 5th, 2011

    mousse is my new HG color. perfect for me and lasts a long time which us important cause I’m a teacher. but I always hit the cap on the lipstick too!

Leave a Reply

 

 

 

CommentLuv badge

Back to top
mobile desktop