A Revealing Look at NYX’s New Clothing Optional Palette, Butt Naked Eyes

37 responses

  1. Joyce
    December 5th, 2011

    The NYX palette looks more day friendly because it seems to have quite alot of matte eyeshadows compared to the Urban Decay Naked palettes. However, I’m not really digging the sheerness of the NYX eyeshadows. =(
    Joyce recently posted … What’s In My Makeup Travel Bag?

  2. Jenn Staz
    December 5th, 2011

    Boo! I’m biased – nothing can beat UD shadows in my opinion. I’ve tried a lot of NYX shadows and haven’t been impressed!

    • Karen
      December 5th, 2011

      This might not be pigmented enough for you, but I’ve tried a few palettes and singles and some of them are really good! :)

      How have you been? Is your week off to a good start?

  3. Jennifer
    December 5th, 2011

    This palette doesn’t look pigmented at all! And the colors kinda look all similar… I would pass.

    • Karen
      December 5th, 2011

      Yeah, the shades look super sheer on my skin, but I bet they would pop better on lighter ladies.

  4. dani@callitbeauty
    December 5th, 2011

    How can I even look at swatches/any other photo and read words when you’re wearing such a STUNNING lip colour? I’m surprised I can even form coherent sentences right now. That’s quite irresponsible of you, Karen! :p
    dani@callitbeauty recently posted … All About Eyes – Blue Had Me At Hello

    • Beth
      December 6th, 2011

      I with you here, please tell us what it is Karen, before my laptop gets completely covered in drool!

  5. Shusheshe (@shusheshe)
    December 5th, 2011

    Eh…gonna hold on buying EITHER of them. Not completely sold yet.

  6. Leah
    December 5th, 2011

    I MUST know your lip color!! It’s amaaaaazzzzingly gorgeous on you.

  7. Alison
    December 5th, 2011

    I’m pretty fair-skinned, and I like cool-toned neutrals, so I’m thinking about picking it up, despite just getting Naked 2 AND the Balm’s Nude ‘Tude palette. It’s a sickness…

    I do have to say, though, I agree that the name of this palette is so odd! And the superfluous quotation marks around “Naked” are bugging the heck out of me!

    • xmissxandristx
      December 5th, 2011

      i totally agree about the quotation marks.

      i’m definitely very cool toned, but there’s no way i’d get this. too dang sheer. i never use sheer shadows, too much work.

  8. Jean
    December 5th, 2011

    More bang for you buck but i still prefer UD eyeshadows to be honest.

  9. Paris B
    December 5th, 2011

    Hated the name to be honest but I love your lipstick! What are you wearing? :D
    Paris B recently posted … Tip: Create a flawless makeup base with Concealer not thick foundation

  10. Krystle
    December 5th, 2011

    I like how there are a lot of matte shades but thats where it ends. I’ve always had problems with NYX’s matte formulation. I think the UD Naked 2 is worth the splurge =D

  11. Alicia M. Lay
    December 5th, 2011

    I’m still not sold on Naked2, and I am liking the cooler toned mattes here. I agree with the name, a bit ridiculous!

    Has anyone played around with Sonia Kashuk’s neutral matte palette? It’s all matte and seems pretty amazing. Still need to try that one, seems more up my alley. So hard to find mattes these days! Karen thanks for posting swatches, and I am also loving the lip color!

  12. gio
    December 5th, 2011

    The eyeshadows look too sheer for my taste. I’d rather get the UD palette tbh.
    gio recently posted … Product Review: Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencils in Gunmetal, Rockstar And Stash

  13. Heather
    December 5th, 2011

    OMG – I almost just had a heart attack when I thought that I missed a new episode of Justified. Whew! New episodes air in January – yay!
    I don’t know about this palette – I kind of don’t mind having sheer eyeshadows cause I’m really more of a nude eye look with a pretty eyeliner anyhow. And the blushes look lovely!

  14. Vonvon
    December 6th, 2011

    Errr, I always thought that NYX has very pigmented eyeshadows! Sigh, save my money!
    Vonvon recently posted … L’Oreal’s Goldmine – Want A Share?

  15. Dao
    December 6th, 2011

    Butt Naked Eyes 2? I love you, Karen! Most NYX palettes I’ve tried are on the sheer side although their single eye shadows are crazy pigmented. Maybe some natural butt naked makeup lovers might enjoy it butt I shall take a pass.

    I’m just having too much fun with the name, can you tell?

  16. Nina
    December 6th, 2011

    the name of the palette slays me!

    the eyeshadows seem a bit sheer but still pretty!

  17. noi
    December 6th, 2011

    At least the case isn’t butt-shaped (that wouldn’t matter anyway to me)! :P
    Your lip color reminds me of the red lipstick in my bag that I’ve ignored all day long. Should wear this tomorrow! I need some spirit-lifting :)
    noi recently posted … This Fashon 21 Eyeshadow Trio is More Than Just the Cherry on Top

  18. Vaie
    December 6th, 2011

    Hello Karen and congratulations in getting featured in UD´s Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/urbandecaycosmetics?sk=app_202540879780784

    (great lipstick by the way!)

    Vaie

  19. Caroline
    December 6th, 2011

    I had to comment and mention that I received an email from Urban Decay saying Naked2 is back in stock, and at the bottom is a banner inviting fan photos. The example fan photo shown – is Karen! I love this blog; keep up the good work! :D

  20. Christine
    December 6th, 2011

    Karen! I just saw you in a recent Urban Decay e-mail w/ your Naked 2 palette. You looked so good I just had to let you know :P!

    Although I can’t imagine why they wouldn’t include a pic of Tabs too… Heehee.

    • Vero
      December 6th, 2011

      I saw it too! I was like hey it’s Karen!

  21. Mia
    December 6th, 2011

    What are you wearing on your lips?

  22. Katy
    December 6th, 2011

    YOU’RE IN THE URBAN DECAY EMAIL!!!

  23. Diana
    December 6th, 2011

    Thank you Karen! You just saved me 20.00. I don’t like the sheerness of the colors. I have the same skintone as you and these just look chalky on the swatches. You rock!

  24. Kim
    December 6th, 2011

    I definitely prefer the UD (from the pics) and you know you’re old when you keep saying to yourself “but, it’s BUCK Naked…”. :)

    Sorry to be so out of touch – it’s been crazy busy! I missed the Monday poll but my goal was to at least get here for a couple of minutes every day to say Hi!

    • Karen
      December 6th, 2011

      Hi Kim,

      I figured you were swamped, no worries! We’ll have time to catch up soon and you can tell me all about your Disney trip. :)

  25. aubrie soetaert
    December 6th, 2011

    Bummer. I think most nyx eyeshadows and blushes are really super pigmented. Why did they have to take down their quality with this palette. I totally would have bought it.

  26. Karen
    December 6th, 2011

    Hi everyone,

    Thanks for all the shout outs re: the Urban Decay email today! What a surprise. :)

    There’s been some questions about the lip color I’m wearing here. It’s the new NYX Xtreme Lip Cream in 03 Spicy. :)

  27. Victoria
    December 6th, 2011

    These shades are way too sheer for me and they look a little chalky. I think I’ll pass – and what on earth is with the name?!

  28. LauraA
    December 7th, 2011

    Thank you for doing swatches of this particular palette. I’ve seen it on the NYX site, and wondered how these looked.

    As a pale-skinned lass, I will say that I constantly run into frustration when it comes to lighter shades in palettes. I’m so pale that when a pale neutral shadow shade isn’t highly pigmented, it doesn’t really show any contrast on my skin, either. Although I love the pigments in most of the bright NYX shadows that I’ve purchased, I prefer pale shadow colors from MAC, UD, and others.

  29. Marilyn @ Lipgloss and Spandex
    December 8th, 2011

    Karen, you look so pretty and you’re totally rocking the red lipstick ;) This review was really helpful, because I love neutral palettes [[why yes I did buy both Naked 1 and Naked 2...]] and was wondering how the NYX palette compared. Since I’m NC40, I’ll probably give it a pass.
    Marilyn @ Lipgloss and Spandex recently posted … Three things Thursday

  30. Lisa Marie
    December 9th, 2011

    I just picked this up tonight at Ulta on sale for 20 bucks. I am decently impressed with the pigment/color payoff of the shadows. There are a few color dupes of some Too Faced shadows I have. The pink in the second row, second shadow in is very similar to Satin Sheets. I am really rather fair in the winter and these colors appear nicely pigmented on my eyes. The textures of the shadows are smack in the middle of Maybelline and Urban Decay. I am very much reminded of Isa Dora shadows in the “softness” of them. Haven’t got to wear them yet so can’t comment on longevity. I haven’t played with the blushes/bronzers yet. I encourage the fair skinned gals to try this out! (Especially if you can get it on sale as I did.)

  31. Nati
    May 26th, 2013

    I bought this palette last year, without having read your review. And I’m glad I did. Mine was perfectly pigmented (not sheer at all but for 2 colours which are sheer) and the colours are longlasting with my regular primer. I do not know how there can be such a difference between your palette and mine. I have Chanel quads that are much sheerer than the colours of this palette (regard perlé I’m looking at you!)

Leave a Reply

 

 

 

CommentLuv badge

Back to top
mobile desktop